Buhari Names Only Late Gen. Shehu Musa As Classmate He Wrote WASCE In 1961 With

weac buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has named only the late Gen. Shehu Musa Yar’Adua as his classmate at both the primary and secondary schools, saying that they both joined the Army after the completion of their West African School Certificate Examination.

Mr. Buhari claimed that he and the late Gen. Yar’Adua wrote the WASCE in 1961.

He stated this on Friday when he defended the presentation of his WAEC certificate to him by the West African Examinations Council.

Amid the controversy over Mr. Buhari failure to present his school certificate to INEC, WAEC Registrar, Dr. Iyi Uwadiae, presented him with a WAEC attestation certificate at the President’s mini conference hall at the Presidential Villa, Abuja on Friday.

The president later tweeted on his verified Twitter handle @MBuhari.

“Today I received the attestation and confirmation of my 1961 West African School Certificate (WASC) Examination result from the Registrar of the West African Examinations Council.

“It was also an opportunity for me to thank WAEC for upholding its integrity over the years.

“As a Nigerian military officer, it would have been impossible for me to have attended the Defence Services Staff College in India in 1973, and, after that — in 1979 — the United States Army War College, had I not sat for the WASC examinations, which I did in 1961.

“The late Gen. Shehu Musa Yar’Adua was my classmate. We spent close to nine years in boarding school, at primary and secondary levels.

“And from there, after our WASC, we moved to join the Army, where we had to take a military examination as one of the requirements.”

The President, however, referred to the West African School Certificate Examination (WASCE) as ‘WASC’ throughout his post.

See the tweets:

View image on TwitterView image on Twitter

Muhammadu Buhari

@MBuhari

Today I received the attestation and confirmation of my 1961 West African School Certificate (WASC) Examination result, from the Registrar of the West African Examinations Council (WAEC). It was also an opportunity for me to thank WAEC for upholding its integrity over the years.

Muhammadu Buhari

@MBuhari

Today I received the attestation and confirmation of my 1961 West African School Certificate (WASC) Examination result, from the Registrar of the West African Examinations Council (WAEC). It was also an opportunity for me to thank WAEC for upholding its integrity over the years.

View image on TwitterView image on Twitter

Muhammadu Buhari

@MBuhari

As a Nigerian military officer, it would have been impossible for me to have attended the Defence Services Staff College in India in 1973, and, after that – in 1979 – the United States Army War College, had I not sat for the WASC examinations, which I did in 1961. pic.twitter.com/pqTGMpcyC2

View image on Twitter

Muhammadu Buhari

@MBuhari

As a Nigerian military officer, it would have been impossible for me to have attended the Defence Services Staff College in India in 1973, and, after that – in 1979 – the United States Army War College, had I not sat for the WASC examinations, which I did in 1961.

View image on Twitter

Muhammadu Buhari

@MBuhari

The late General Shehu Musa Yar’Adua was my classmate. We spent close to nine years in boarding school, at primary and secondary levels. And from there, after our WASC, we moved to join the Army, where we had to take a military examination as one of the requirements.

Advertisements

REPORT THIS AD
REPORT THIS AD